For updates regarding our operations during the COVID-19 outbreak, please click here
The Secret Starling

Buy from Penguin Random House:

The Secret Starling
Written by Judith Eagle
Format: Hardback
ISBN-10: 1536213659
ISBN-13: 9781536213652
Our Price: $16.99

Buy from any of the following retailers:


Indiebound
Indiebound

Find a local retailer:


 

How to buy

more titles by Judith Eagle

more titles by Jo Rioux

view other editions

 
The Secret Starling

author: Judith Eagle
illustrator: Jo Rioux

Clara Starling lives a life of dull rules, deadly routine, and flavorless meals under her cold uncle's strict regimeóuntil the day Uncle disappears, leaving Clara alone in his old mansion. When streetwise orphan Peter and his rescue cat arrive unexpectedly, the children seize the chance to live by their own rules. But when the pairís wild romps through the halls of Braithwaite Manor reveal a single, worn ballet slipper, they are hurled into a mystery that will lead to Londonís glittering Royal Opera House and the unraveling of twisted Starling family secrets of poison, passion, and murder. Diabolical villains, plucky orphans, and glamorous ballet stars populate this absorbing adventure with a classic feel.

A tattered ballet slipper found under the floorboards of Braithwaite Manor may be the key to Claraís sinister family secrets in this delightful, lightly Gothic mystery for fans of Maryrose Wood and Claire Legrand.
suggested retail price (U.S./CAN):
$16.99 / $22.99
isbn-10/isbn-13:
1536213659 /  9781536213652
on sale date:
06/2021
type/format:
Middle-grade Novel / Hardback
age range:
10 yrs - 14 yrs
# of pages/size:
256 / 5 1/4" x 7 3/4"
grade range:
Grade 5 - Grade 9
 
subjects:
Juvenile Fiction; Family; Girls & Women; Mysteries & Detective Stories;
author’s comments:
Judith Eagleís career thus far has included stints as a stylist, fashion editor, and features writer. She currently works as a librarian and library assistant. The Secret Starling is her first book. Judith Eagle lives in London.
 
browse by:

 
view options
   parent
 teacher/librarian
 bookseller